Alright guys, this one has nothing to do with the Twins, but bear with me. I’ve got a crazy question here, and I want everyone’s thoughs.
First, to the MLB rulebook, for Rule 10.17(b):
(b) If the pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, is a starting pitcher who has not completedNext, note that the judgment call part of the rule was actually exercised this week.
(1) five innings of a game that lasts six or more innings on defense, or
(2) four innings of a game that lasts five innings on defense, then the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the relief pitcher, if there is only one relief pitcher, or the relief pitcher who, in the official scorer’s judgment was the most effective, if there is more than one relief pitcher.
Now, the scorer has to use his best judgment to determine which relief pitcher was the most effective, not just which one came in first.
Imagine the following scenario:
Pitcher gets knocked out of the game before finishing the 5th inning, and has a 5-0 lead when he leaves (say it’s an injury).
The team rolls out one relief pitcher per inning, who each give up a single run in the 5th, 6th, 7th, and 8th innings. The team now has a 5-4 lead coming into the 9th, and they bring in their closer. He strikes out the side. (He clearly was the most effective relief pitcher in this obviously contrived scenario.)
Here’s my question: Is the closer rewarded with both a win and a save?8 comments